Horsham, West Sussex

Horsham

Recoco Property Search

The Insider Guide

 

Sitting as it does on the fringes of the Weald, Horsham is a pretty and popular market town which is a West Sussex gem. Its tree-lined streets are a delight to walk and the mix of properties ranges from Georgian gems to modern day apartments.

The town centre is bustling and popular and Horsham’s relative proximity to both the coast and the capital makes it a popular spot with commuters. Having Gatwick Airport close by only adds to the sense of a community on the move here.

 

What a property agent can purchase

 

£800k buys: A five-bedroom detached house, in a cul-de-sac location.

£1.25m buys: A five-bedroom detached house on Denne Park.

£2.5m buys: A five-bedroom detached house, in a sought after location with grounds.

Best hotels in Horsham

South Lodge (https://www.exclusive.co.uk/south-lodge) is a luxury country house hotel with wonderful rooms and a fantastic restaurant. Springfields Hotel (https://www.springfieldshotel.co.uk) offers individual rooms in an unfussy hotel convenient for the town. Brookfield Barn (http://www.brookfieldbarn.co.uk) is a hotel and wedding venue housed in a classic Sussex barn.

 

Best restaurants in Horsham

Restaurant Tristan (http://www.restauranttristan.co.uk) is home to the eponymous Tristan Mason, a chef whose reputation for excellence has diners flocking to this charming place for cooking which justifiably has been awarded a Michelin star. Benguela Brasserie (https://www.manningsheath.com/benguela-brasserie1) is a lovely restaurant set within the grounds of Mannings Heath Golf Club and Wine Estate. Carmelas (https://carmelas.co.uk) is a delightful family-run eaterie and deli offering Mediterranean and Sicilian specialities.

 

Best schools in Horsham

Christ’s Hospital (http://www.christs-hospital.org.uk) is an independent school for boys and girls aged from 11 to 18 which has a first class reputation for its academic record and pastoral care regime. Cottesmore School (https://www.cottesmoreschool.com) is proud of providing a feeling of home for its mixed range of pupils aged 4 to 13. Hurtwood House School (http://www.hurtwoodhouse.com) has a strong reputation for arts and media education for boys and girls aged 15 to 19, but it points to its strong record in other subjects as evidence of the excellent all-round education it provides.

 

Buying Agents Fact

The name Horsham can be traced back to the 7th century when it was known by traders as Horse Ham, or a place where horses meet.


How to get to Horsham from central London

 Train: 51 mins to London Victoria.

Car: 1 hours 30 minutes to central London

Helicopter: 25 minutes from Battersea Heliport

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

James Nightingall